As a writer it is very important to sit down and actually write.  In the past I used to spend a lot of time running around like a chicken with it's head cut off.  Now, when I say run I don't mean literally.  I mean, I would go on to Facebook and talk to people, check emails, design a website, get annoyed with the website and keep deleting and remaking it.  Basically, trying to establish myself as a writer to the online social community.  The mistake that I was making was not actually doing any writing.
  
  It is a good thing to establish yourself online, but you can not be a writer or a photographer or anything with out producing results.  I still struggle with this.  If I allow myself to get caught up in the social aspect of it all I completely for go what i wanted to do in the first place.  Be a writer.  I realize that I need to begin my morning by first waking myself up.  I usually start with a warm soak and I've even found that washing my face makes me feel refreshed.
  
  If you're like me and are compelled to write, then being happy puts you in the mood and right mind set to write.  Now, I usually start my day out rather I'm writing or not with a cup of coffee.  It's good to have a set schedule.  Even if your schedule changes each day.  Even if you take ten minutes a day out of your time to do something creative.  Those ten minutes will add up and eventually you'll have a finished project.  
  
  A few tips that can help you be more productive in your work would be:


  •   Wake up when it's quiet to work (No distractions)

  • Do something to wake yourself up, drink a cup of coffee or warm tea, or what ever you prefer.  Just take time to relax and have 'You' time.

  • Do a ten minute mini work out (even to just stretch).  It gets the blood flowing, producing those endorphin's and making you feel happy.  When the blood flows so does the ideas for a current or new project.
  

  If you have read this I hope that you put some or all of these ideas in to play.  Write me a message and let me know if they've helped you out at all.  I would also love to hear of any other ideas you may have that helps be more productive in what ever your doing.  Good luck on any current projects you may be working on. :)
Maxwell Ofori Nkrumah
5/16/2013 08:44:51 pm

Hi Ariadne, I enjoy your writing and all your advice. Keep it up. I only want you to check your use of "your", where you actually wanted to say "you're or you are". Have a wonderful day!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.